Displaying Shipping Total in Shopping Cart Widget.....

Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2018 11:02

Displaying Shipping Total in Shopping Cart Widget.....

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 19-Jun-2013 00:00

Hi All,

I am a beginner of Sitefinity exploring new  things daily in this.

Here i am trying to waive off Shipping based on the Quantity . So i have created a Shipping method of Shipping method type Custom here i have set the Shipping price based on the Quantity.

This rule is getting affected in Check out. Is it Possible to imply this Shipping information based on quantity in Shopping Cart Widget??

Kindly let me know the Possible work around for this.

Thanks
Paramasivan.G

Posted by Community Admin on 20-Jun-2013 00:00

Hello Paramasivan,

Thanks for reaching out and I'd like to extend a welcome to the Sitefinity dev community!

We have a way of implementing what you are referring to, but first i wanted to ask a quick question. Basically the reason why shipping rates are displayed at the point they are is because we are not aware of the customer's address before they fill it in. And since shipping rates can vary by country/state/zip code, then we need to know the exact address before we calculate the price.

Therefore if you want to display items in the shopping cart we would have to:
- Have some sort of conventioin where we know that there is either a flatter rate(for example - we support shipping only for one country and the rates are flat by state)  or
- Ask for address before checkout - which could result into higher dropout rates potentially - people don't want to provide their address unless they have to. 
- Use geolication to determine the city/state programatically and show an approximation of the rate(if the geolocation was not correct - we can add a small note that this is where we think they are, but shipping rates may vary)