Problem mapping a layout on search

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 05:39

Problem mapping a layout on search

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 13-Jan-2011 00:00

I have a usercontrol on my masterpage, usercontrol has a searchbox in which I was trying to map a template to an ascx on my filesystem

<sitefinity:SearchBox id="searchbar" runat="server" LayoutTemplatePath="~/UserControls/Menu/SearchView.ascx"  />

Setting this though causes everything to crap out...runtime errors allover the place I cant even get to /Sitefinity/Pages

A required control was not found in the template for "Telerik.Sitefinity.Resources.Templates.Backend.Search.SearchWidget.ascx". The control must be assignable form type "Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.SearchBox" and must have ID "searchBox".

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.TemplateException: A required control was not found in the template for "Telerik.Sitefinity.Resources.Templates.Backend.Search.SearchWidget.ascx". The control must be assignable form type "Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.SearchBox" and must have ID "searchBox".

Source Error:

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace:

[TemplateException: A required control was not found in the template for "Telerik.Sitefinity.Resources.Templates.Backend.Search.SearchWidget.ascx". The control must be assignable form type "Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.SearchBox" and must have ID "searchBox".]
   Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.GenericContainer.ThrowException(Type requiredType, String controlId) +74
   Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.GenericContainer.GetControl(String id, Boolean required) +262