Anyone get a virus from the free downloads?

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:04

Anyone get a virus from the free downloads?

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 20-May-2011 00:00

Hi all,

I'm new to telerik, as I rule I stay away from 3rd party products--even some of MS's controls too--and I recently downloaded a number of the free apps from the telerik site. Now my pc is acting as if it has a virus. Which is strange because this isn't the sort of site the virus hackers hang out at. 

I downloaded the Mock App, the Framework App, and the Decompile Beta App for VS2010. Now my pc is a mess (Vista Ultimate) and acting as if a virus is in it, but my virus software has gone coo coo too. I launch WebRoot and just get the background frame with none of the controls in it. I attempt to reinstall that product and it frees the OS at the blue donut. I tried to uninstall the telerik products from Control Panel, but the windows installer freezes right after it launches.

Tried Safe Mode to no effect. VS2010 won't open. I get to the splash screen and it freezes. Its not even listed in the task manager, so I have to kill it using the process tab. IE works fine oddly enough.

All this makes like a virus more than a bug, but I'd think a company like telerik would have their download area well secured. Other than surfing the C# and .Net sites and blogs a bit for solutions, that's all my activity of late, so I'm wondering if anyone else has had such an issue.

Kind regards,
D. Horne

PS: A funny aside. I called Web Root for tech support and "due to the huge success of their latest product release", the hold time for support was an hour. lol. Companies are rushing to market and then rushing to man the support lines. As an recovering engineer, I feel the pain of those engineering managers. Working to midnight to get hit the market window and then working until midnight to patch it afterwards. All so that the CEO gets their quarterly bonus.