Custom content module not cleaning up old URLs on Delete/Upd

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 13:57

Custom content module not cleaning up old URLs on Delete/Update

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 25-May-2011 00:00

Hi all,

Sitefinity newbie here, so please be gentle.

For all I know this may be expected behaviour, but I've noticed a couple of issues with a custom module I've created based upon the Products sample custom module.  The groundwork of the module is basically identical, but has all references to 'Products' and 'Product' swapped out for 'Cars' and 'Car'.

The first issue is that when a Car content item is removed, it does not remove its associated URLs in the table sf_url_data.  This can cause a NoSuchObjectException if a new Car content item is assigned the same URL as one which was previously deleted (full exception text at bottom of post).

The second issue is somewhat connected: when a new revision of a Car content item is published, it will create two new entries in sf_url_data without first clearing up any of the old ones.

I have to admit, I'm not quite sure where to begin with this.  Code provided on request, but as previously stated, the module data access layer etc. are basically identical to the Products sample ( http://www.sitefinity.com/40/help/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials-modules-creating-custom-modules-products-module.html )

Thanks in advance.

-Jack

No row for CarModule.Model.CarItem ('car_item') GenericOID@4e1d0d40 CarItem content_id=c19f406d-a082-4c9d-a835-2fbf0647663c NOTRES

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: Telerik.OpenAccess.Exceptions.NoSuchObjectException: No row for CarModule.Model.CarItem ('car_item') GenericOID@4e1d0d40 CarItem content_id=c19f406d-a082-4c9d-a835-2fbf0647663c NOTRES

Source Error: