The amount of javascript blocks in pages

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 12:28

The amount of javascript blocks in pages

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Jun-2011 00:00

I'm new to Sitefinity as a front-end developer and my web development company is in the process of deciding whether to use Sitefinity as the default CMS for all future clients. One major issue I have with Sitefinity is the amount of javascript code blocks it outputs in web pages. In our current example page (which unfortunately I can't share here) there's several inline code blocks (script tags early in the body area of the html) and several externally referenced ones aswell. The total size is not a huge problem (around 50Kb in our example), but I fear for the rendering speed of the pages. Both inline script blocks and external references (http requests) have a negative effect on load times. Besides that it's an issue of code neatness.

My questions:

- Is there anything a developer can do to reduce the amount of javascript generated?
- Are all these scripts necessary? The page does not use any Telerik controls, no drop down menu or anything. Only a few custom scripts which we've placed in the masterpage ourselves (those are the only ones we were hoping to see).

Any help, explanation or advice appreciated, and my apologies if this has been brought up before.

Posted by Community Admin on 01-Jul-2011 00:00

Hi Geert,

If you are using jQuery in your scripts they might get in conflict with some Sitefinity jQuery. You may try to resolve the conflicts with noConflict().