Problem when deleting a used classification

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:16

Problem when deleting a used classification

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2011 00:00
Hi,

Here's the scenario:
- Create a custom classification
- Bind it to News (as a custom field), for example
- Delete the classification

The classification will be deleted although it is currently in use. So next time you'll try to edit news, you'll get a blocking exception.

Expected behavior: either prevent the deletion explaining the classification is used (bonus points if you specify which content types use this classification), or propose to automatically delete all custom fields referencing this classification. Maybe the former suggestion would be better, in order to match the current behavior when trying to delete a page that contains sub pages.
Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2011 00:00
Hello Thomas,

Thank you for reporting this issue.
The issue has been logged in our system  and forwarded for fixing. You can follow the PITS Issue by its ID: 7264.
As a workaround I can suggest you to delete created on deleted classification custom field.

I updated your Telerik points.

Kind regards,
Sonya
the Telerik team
Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items
This thread is closed