Nested Masterpage Menu Problem

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 18:56

Nested Masterpage Menu Problem

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 08-Oct-2011 00:00

I have a masterpage that contains a menu.
I have subpage template (.master) that uses the masterpage as its base.
The problem:

The menu on the masterpage does not show up on the subpage template.

What am I doing wrong?

Posted by Community Admin on 11-Oct-2011 00:00

Hello Robert,

The menu should be initialized outside the contentplaceholder. I have created a simple TreeMenu. In my parent masterpage I have:

<%@ Master Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="Site1.master.cs" Inherits="SitefinityWebApp.App_Master.Site1" %>
<%@ Register Assembly="Telerik.Sitefinity" Namespace="Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.NavigationControls" TagPrefix="sfMap" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<head runat="server">
    <title></title>
</head>
<body>
    <form id="form1" runat="server">
    <div>
            <sfMap:SitefinitySiteMapDataSource runat="server" ID="SitefinitySiteMapDS" ShowStartingNode = "false"/>
        <telerik:RadTreeView ID="RTV" runat="server"  OnClientNodeExpanding="OnClientNodeExpanding" DataSourceID = "SitefinitySiteMapDS"></telerik:RadTreeView>
        <asp:ContentPlaceHolder ID="ContentPlaceHolder1" runat="server">

</asp:ContentPlaceHolder>
    </div>
    </form>
</body>
</html>

Then I have created a nested masterpage in VS inheriting the parent masterpage.

<%@ Master Language="C#" MasterPageFile="~/App_Master/Site1.Master" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="NestedMasterPage1.master.cs" Inherits="SitefinityWebApp.App_Master.NestedMasterPage1" %>
<asp:Content ID="Content1" ContentPlaceHolderID="ContentPlaceHolder1" runat="server">
</asp:Content>

Please find attached the video which presents the above scenario.

Best wishes,
Victor Velev
the Telerik team