Ecoomerce starter kit bugs

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 14:14

Ecoomerce starter kit bugs

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 14-Sep-2012 00:00

i just started evaluating sitefinity 5.1 about 2 days ago and i also installed the 5.1 sdk.But the problem i having is with the eCommerce site.After successfully publishing the site,at the home page of the eCommerce site ,when i click a button on an item in the home page it redirects me to a blank site with error message 404 "page not found" .also the drop down header for checking out after adding items to cart doesn't respond.Please are there any modifications that need to be done to solve this bug because its my first time loading the sample app(didn't modify anything) and its throwing missing page when i click some items.

please any help will be appreciated.

Posted by Community Admin on 19-Sep-2012 00:00

Hi Thomas,

I have answered your ticket on the same subject. I'll paste the answer here for your convenience:

"Hello Thomas,

Thank you for contacting us.

Can you elaborate on "After successfully publishing the site"? Do you mean that you have used thepublish function in Visual Studio? If that is the case I would suggest to avoid the publish functionality of Visual Studio as other clients have encountered problems when using it for publishing their websites. I assume that due to the fact that VS builds and publishes the project and its files, it kills all processes that use the files and sometimes does not even copy the files. The easiest ( and safest ) way to deploy your project files to the server is to copy them to the destination folder on the server using FTP client. 

I hope this helps and please let me know if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,
Pavel Benov
the Telerik team