custom widget wiring issue

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 21:06

custom widget wiring issue

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Feb-2014 00:00

I'm very new to Sitefinity so I am sure this will be a easy one (not for me).

I used Thunder to create the default "Hello World" custom widget and designer ... just so I could play with it.   I called it "HelloWorldTest"

The strange thing is, when I look at the code that is generated I see a basic  HelloWorldTest.ascx but without any code behind.    

<%@ Control Language="C#" %>
<asp:Label ID="MessageLabel" Text="Text" runat="server"/>

There is also the designer and a HellowWorldTest.cs file, but I see no way in which these files are linked. 

As expected, when I registered this widget in tools and placed it on a page it just displays "Text", and when it click "Edit" it gives me the standard designer without the "Message" property.

Am I supposed to add some code behind to the ASCX file to bootstrap the registering of the custom property and designer?

I have a feeling I am missing the obvious here, but have been struggling for a while.

Any hints would be greatly appreciated.

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Feb-2014 00:00

Okay so they are linked :). In the .cs there should be a string that points to the ascx...at the bottom I think.  Anyway, the ascx is more like a 'view' so the code file can't directly access the controls on it AUTOMATICALLY.; you just need to wire them up.  So in the sample see how in the control references region  it finds the message label in the container?...thats all you need then you can access as you always would.

The other diff is you can't wire an event in the markup.  You need to hook it in through code in the InitalizeControls method.

Sorry...2 separate posts because I'm on an ipad and the mobile styling on this forum is so badly gimped.