Overriding RadTabStrip styling

Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2018 23:10

Overriding RadTabStrip styling

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Nov-2011 00:00

First, I'm a Sitefinity noob

I'm attempting to apply a very simple set of styles to an even simpler menu in Sitefinity 4.2.

I've watched videos (for clearly older versions of sitefinity) and have figured out how to set the Wrapper Class (Skin) setting for the menu so that I can begin styling.

I can even make changes to the css and have those reflected so I know how to "talk" to the elements on the page.

So what's the problem? I am constantly fighting the inheritance of the css styles from the auto-generated stylesheet. I want to float or align or inline or just about everything one way and the following stylesheet tells me "I don't think so".

localhost:49753/.../Telerik.Web.UI.WebResource.axd

I can !important everything but someone please tell me I'm a silly noob and that there is a "Please stop helping me" checkbox I'm missing that will let me apply my styles in peace.

Posted by Community Admin on 09-Nov-2011 00:00

Hi Jeremy,

Let me start with this: it’s a short journey from a Sitefinity noob to a Sitefinity ninja, so feel free to ask questions and we'll be glad to help you get there. :)

The !important statement can be used to add weight to a declaration. It's a way to have the rules you feel are most crucial always be applied. A rule that has the !important property will always be applied no matter where that rule appears in the CSS document. However, there's a cleaner and easier approach when it comes to styles in Sitefinity. What you need to do to style your navigation is to set a wrapper class to it and add the required styling properties to the your stylesheet. All your properties should be declared between the brackets of your wrapper's class. What's more important is the way your class needs to be defined in your stylesheet. The correct syntax is: