Page template layout class css being overridden?

Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2018 21:38

Page template layout class css being overridden?

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Nov-2012 00:00

Please bear with me as I am new to Sitefinity and am still a long way from mastering css.  I have a page template for which I have added a custom theme.   I have given my layout elements wrapper classes and added them to my custom theme css class.  However, these do not appear to be working.  In Firebug, the wrapper class elements are shown with a strike-through line, like they are being ignored and, of course, the screen appears that they ARE being ignored.   Is there something I am diong wrong?

This shows one of my wrapper classes being applied in the html:

<div id="PublicWrapper" class="sfPublicWrapper">
<div class="sf_cols gmc_header">

This is the pertinent code from my custom theme css file:

#PublicWrapper
    width:100%;
    background: #fff url('Images/gmcbackground.png') none;   

.gmc_header
    margin: 0 auto;
    width: 900px;

I have attached a screenshot of what is shown in Firebug.

I would appreciate any advice!

Update:  I added !important to the two lines in my wrapper class gmc_header and that works, but is this the best way to go about this?

Thanks,
Donna

Posted by Community Admin on 08-Nov-2012 00:00

Hey Donna,

The reason why .sf_cols overrides .gmc_header is because its defined later in the css.
Either you load the styles for .sf_cols in a different css files that gets added after the one that defines the .gmc_header class or its defined further down in the same .css.

---
So you can leave it as is, with using !important but then you'll never be able to override it again in case you run into some browser quirk you need to 'hack'.

---
You can change the loading order to ensure that sf_cols gets defined before the actual project styles. Either by changing the cssloadorder.xml in your global folder or re-arrange the stylesheet.

---