How to create a color strip background?

Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2018 04:41

How to create a color strip background?

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 09-Dec-2012 00:00

I would like to have a different background and style for my logo and menu then for the rest of the page. An example would be this forum where you have a black background for the "DEVELOPER NETWORK" Label and next to it is a nav menu. Using the Sitefinity backend, this would be represented by two columns in the layout. The problem is, if the page background is not black, and you set it individually for each content/control, you'll get gaps with the page style filling the extra space.

I loaded up the Corporate starter kit and went to the Sitefinity backend. If you look at the layout, it actually has two separate layouts instead of one solid one. How can I create this through the backend UI?
Note: I am new to CSS and styling in general.
Thanks.

Posted by Community Admin on 13-Dec-2012 00:00

Hello Jonathan,

I wasn't able to reproduce what you describe by placing a navigation and a content block under it. The content block would be placed right under the navigation, without leaving any space. However, this doesn't mean that the space you've mentioned appears improperly. Sometimes there are other css styles that prevent the controls from sticking to each other. You can inspect the two columns and see if any margins and paddings are set to them. The paddings will add space inside the columns and the margins will add space between the columns. Also, you can use css positioning to manually append controls to each other by explicitly setting how they should be positioned. I would suggest you to take a look at the W3C website for additional css tips.

Kind regards,
Jen Peleva
the Telerik team