Control Designer

Posted by Community Admin on 05-Aug-2018 16:06

Control Designer

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 19-Jan-2011 00:00

Hi

I've been working with Sitefinity for a few years now and have a number of controls with control designers implemented, some of which I'm looking to port to v4. Now the controls themselves were easy to upgrade but what have you done with the control designer's? It now appears that everything has to be done client side using refreshUI and applyChanges functions. Quite of a few of my controls have quite complex control designers with server side code already written and I see this as a real issue that is gonna be time consuming not to mention the lack of intellisense and reduced debugging with javascript, I'd hardly call this productive development. Perhaps I've got the wrong end of the stick and maybe you'd shed some light on server side saving of control state.

Regards,
Shane 

Hi Shane,

You can only bind the controls on the server, but you should use the client side API of the controls to get/set some data. There are not server side events/methods that you can use to persist control data.

All the best,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team

Check out Telerik Trainer, the state of the art learning tool for Telerik products.

Initially it seems worse, but when you start using them, being able to leverage jQuery...it's pretty awesome to work with.

You could even create custom javascript objects, serialize them as a string propety, then deserialize on the control side.

I'm sorry to hear that, thanks for the detailed explanation. Initially it seems worse because it is worse. jQuery is good and easy to work with but that's beside the point and not the issue. This just further points out that little thought has been given in upgrading from 3.* to 4 and supporting developers that have existing controls and modules which can't be upgraded easily and will require a time consuming rewrite.