LDAP security and user roles

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 08:52

LDAP security and user roles

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 15-Jun-2011 00:00

I am new to LDAP security, while working on sitefinity 3.6 we have integrated the below code in web.config file

<roleManager enabled="true" cacheRolesInCookie="true" defaultProvider="Sitefinity">

<

providers

<

clear/> 
<add connectionStringName="DefaultConnection" applicationName="/" name="Sitefinity" type="Telerik.DataAccess.AspnetProviders.TelerikRoleProvider, Telerik.DataAccess"/>
</providers
</
roleManager 

now when i am migrating to sitefinity 4.1 and if i am making the RoleManage enabled="true" then i am not able to work with admin section as it is showing me the error message as
"The configured Role Provider (WindowsTokenRoleProvider) relies upon Windows authentication to determine the groups that the user is allowed to be a member of. ASP.NET Role Manager cannot be used to manage Windows users and groups. Please use the SQLRoleProvider if you would like to support custom user/role assignment."

and if i am using the same code as in sitefinity 3.6 in the web.config file for sitefinity 4.1  then it is showing me an error message as
"Parser Error Message: Could not load file or assembly 'Telerik.DataAccess' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified."

should i load the same old telerik.Dataaccess dll in the sitefinity4.1 or there is any other way to work with LDAP security issues.

Hello Shekar,

You should register your LDAP through configurations (SecurityConfig.config). There is UI that you can use directly from Administration >> Settings >> Advanced >> Security

In the web.config you can use only ASP.NET SqlMembership/Role providers

www.sitefinity.com/.../using_the_asp_net_sql_membership_provider_in_sitefinity.aspx

All the best,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team