Extending Sitefinity Downloadlist Widget

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 08:45

Extending Sitefinity Downloadlist Widget

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 19-Aug-2011 00:00

I'm wondering if we can extend the sitefinity built-in widget design view. What I want to do, say for "Download list", I want to add new fields "Download List Title" or "Summary" or whatever fields and have it display on the page. I still like to keep all the widget design view functionalities but just add some more fields.

May be too easy/obvious answer but I'm still learning user controls so appreciate if someone could guide me along.
Thanks.

Posted by Community Admin on 23-Aug-2011 00:00

Hi May,

You have to create a new Custom control, inheriting the DownloadList control. 
Here are some guides on creating custom controls:
http://www.sitefinity.com/blogs/ivan/posts/11-01-18/implementing_sitefinity_widgets_and_designers_how_to_implement_facebook_like_button.aspx
http://www.sitefinity.com/40/help/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials-controls-working-with-control-designers-creating-a-simple-control-designers.html
http://www.sitefinity.com/40/help/developers-guide/how-to-how-to-create-a-simple-image-selector.html

Basically, what you'll need to do is create a new assembly (or you can use a folder inside your SitefinityWebApp). In this assembly, you will have to add:
1) An .ascx file which will use one (or more) of the View  templates of the current DownloadList control. You can copy the desired template code from (Design >> Widget Templates)  and add for example a Label (which will hold the title) to it. Mind that you will have to change the template of all the Views, if you want all of them to have this title displayed.
This is the frontend template of the control.