Creating a content module that doesn't use OpenAccess

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:29

Creating a content module that doesn't use OpenAccess

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 01-Sep-2011 00:00

Hi All,

I'm new to SF so please excuse me if this has already been discussed and answered.

I am using SF4.2 and want to create a content module that does not use OpenAccess as its data provider.  I see back in May 2011 that Slavo indicated that such a demo would be provided in the SF4.2 SDK (http://www.sitefinity.com/devnet/forums/sitefinity-4-x/developing-with-sitefinity/develop-a-custom-module-withour-openaccess-orm.aspx) however I cannot see one.

Can you point me in the direction of this demo?

Thanks
Robin.

Posted by Community Admin on 06-Sep-2011 00:00

Hello Robin,

Unfortunately I don't think there is such a demo yet. However you don't need OpenAccess to retrieve and store your data. You can use the built-in ADO.NET classes like Commands, Readers and DataSets to access the data, however it is not so straightforward as when using OpenAccess. Could you give us more details on what you need to achieve?

Best wishes,
Lubomir Velkov
the Telerik team

Thank you for being the most amazing .NET community! Your unfailing support is what helps us charge forward! We'd appreciate your vote for Telerik in this year's DevProConnections Awards. We are competing in mind-blowing 20 categories and every vote counts! VOTE for Telerik NOW >>

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Sep-2011 00:00

I'm going to +1 Lubomir on this...Once you start using OpenAccess it's hard to move back to anything else :)  I've converted a few non-believers at our office.

Steve

Hi Lubomir,

Thanks for the reply.

Basically, I need to create a content module so that data can be maintained through Sitefinity, but where the CRUD commands are manual and not using the OpenAccess ORM (and not stored in the SF database)