How to add drop down list to custom Registration template

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 21:38

How to add drop down list to custom Registration template

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 19-Jun-2012 00:00

Hello all - I am fairly new to Sitefinity, and need some pointers on how to do something which seems like it should be straightforward, but I just can't find what I need.

My site will allow users to register, so I am using the Registration widget. I have a custom Profile Type because I want to add several custom fields to the Registration form.  I would like to add a State drop down list to the form, which is defined as a custom template within Sitefinity.

So, my question is this:  Is it best to create a separate States table, and refer to that in a custom field of my profile type? If so, how would I do that?  My other option seems like I would just add a Choice type field, and manually add all of the states as choices within Sitefinity. 

And the follow up question - how do I add that field to my custom template for the Registration widget?

Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Jun-2012 00:00

Hello,

Unfortunately this is not a trival task but we have a workaround for this type of situation.

You can create a dropdownfield that creates a statedropdown field and it to your widget template. In order to register the field for the users go to Administration->Users->Manage profile types(in the right sidebar)->Basic Profile and create new custom field for the basic profile. Leave the type "short text" in "Interface widget for entering data" select custom and in the textbox add the namespace to the custom widget ( Widgets.Selectors.TaxSelector.TaxonomyDropDownField ), save changes. The dropdown is added to the users module.

I have included a code sample for your reference.

<%@ Register TagPrefix="sf" Namespace="Widgets.Selectors.StateSelector" Assembly="Widgets.Selectors" %>

<sf:StateDropDownField