How to create a custom module in 5.0

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 23:49

How to create a custom module in 5.0

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 06-Jul-2012 00:00

GOAL:
To create a redistributable module that contains multiple front-end widgets that is compiled into a .dll for easy installation across multiple sites.

I am writing this post after hours of searching and frustration with either not being able to find examples/blogs/posts on what I am trying to accomplish or finding docs or posts that are for older versions of sitefinity and are no longer relevant. I am fairly new to sitefinity and that might also be why I am having trouble wrapping my head around the framework and how everything works. So below is my plea for help. I looked at the intra-site modules video which gave me a understanding of how to create a module and install it using a aspx page. I was able to install the module but never got the widgets to show in the content toolbox. Then I searched and found pluggable modules which looked like the option to go with until I read further and realized that the doc was only for 3.x installations. Then I looked into the SDK and opened up a couple of the samples like Jobs and Locations and those seemed to do much more than what I am trying to accomplish.

I have searched through most of the blogs/documentation and can't seem to find what I am looking for or at this point I might have missed it because my eyes are crossed. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Jul-2012 00:00

Couple ways you can do it...

1) Install the SDK, have a look at the "Products" sample module
2) Install the sitefinity thunder visual studio addin.  Then when you go Add->New->Sitefinity->Module you can just add the bones for a new module.