Using MVC

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 03:10

Using MVC

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 26-Jul-2012 00:00

I'm a webforms developer. I can say, just, that I know the difference between MVC and a hole in the ground, but only just.

I'm doing some reading on the MVC principles but wondered if anyone can offer me a good place to start wrt Sitefinity.

-- 
Stuart

you'll definitely want to take a look at the Getting Started Guide, here's the first video in that section: Creating a Hello World Widget using Sitefinity MVC 

Another good example is the Sitefinity MVC Store project which is a Sitefinity version of the original Microsoft ASP.NET MVC Store sample. It shows how you can use MVC together with the module builder to make a pretty solid solution!

The full source code for the project is available for download and I think is a really good way to get familiar with using Sitefinity with MVC.

Hope this is helpful!

I actually found this article to be more valuable in making my decision on whether or not to invest serious time in MVC.

http://www.sitefinity.com/documentation/documentationarticles/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials/how-does-sitefinity-use-asp.net-mvc

I appreciate that MVC and Webforms each have their strengths, and supporting MVC is a great feature if you are already an MVC developer, but for me (as a webforms developer) and with Sitefinity being webform-centric... I'm comfortable with leaving MVC to others for now.

www.pluralsight-training.net is the best. Its not free, but I have learned so much about MVC there.

Agreed tht pluralsight is great! I try to watch at least one video every night. The Design Patters series alone makes me feel like I wasted 4 years money on college :P

That being said, I'd like to say that this is another fine example of how Sitefinity is all about developer choice! Never feel compelled to use MVC just because it's there, we just want to give you the option :)