Working with pages programmatically

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 10:25

Working with pages programmatically

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 28-Aug-2012 00:00

Hi all,

I want to work with pages programmatically, if i want to add this code for example, where shoud i insert it?:

// create a new instance of CmsManager with default provider
Telerik.Cms.CmsManager cmsManager = new Telerik.Cms.CmsManager();
// create a new page with specified title
Telerik.Cms.ICmsPage newPage = cmsManager.CreatePage("About us");
// optionally, we can modify the properties of new page at this
// place, before actually saving the page
// created page finally needs to be saved with cmsManager
cmsManager.SavePage(newPage);

Please i am new with Sitefinity, i need to know, if i am editiing my sitefinity project in Visual Studio, which files should i edit or create to execute the previous code.. Thanks in advance.

Hi, I think we spoke via email but I'll post our discussion here too in case anyone else has the same question.

The code you’ve posted below is for Sitefinity 3.7, and is not compatible with the latest release. If you're using SF 4 or higher, you’ll want to use the new API.

Sample code for creating and saving pages using code is available in the documentation: http://www.sitefinity.com/documentation/documentationarticles/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials/pages/creating-pages

You can either use the standard PageManager API or the FluentAPI, both methods are explained and have sample code in the page linked above.

You could put execute this on a blank webforms page (create a test.aspx page and put it in the code behind) and run that page to execute it. You can also place it in a user control (ascx file) as a widget and drop it on a page to run it.