Random Site Controls for Sitefinity Installation Instruction

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 23:31

Random Site Controls for Sitefinity Installation Instructions

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 13-Nov-2012 00:00

Hey I'm brand new to Sitefinity and .NET so I don't know how to get the Random Site Controls Addon Installed on Sitefinity. It would be great to have a walk through of some sort that would let us know how to get this working. Could anyone provide some help?
www.sitefinity.com/.../random-site-controls-for-sitefinity-

Thanks!

Posted by Community Admin on 16-Nov-2012 00:00

Hi Richard,

When you download the controls package, you can navigate to the folder called ResourcesToInclude, which has several files in it. There is a text file called: Installation Instructions.txt, which reads:

Random Site Controls Installation Instructions
-----------------------------------------------

1) Copy the RandomSiteControls.dll to your project
2) Add in the Toolbox entries from the included ToolboxesConfig.config by either COPYING the entires into your own, or by adding them with the Sitefinity backend Settings UI at Settings->Advanced->Toolboxes->Toolboxes
3) Add in the virtual path entry as seen in "VirtualPathSettingsConfig.config"...again by copying the entry into your own, or using the backend UI located at Settings->Advanced->VirtualPathSettings->Virtual paths->Create New
4) Add this to the global.asax to register the section
    protected void Application_Start(object sender, EventArgs e)

Telerik.Sitefinity.Abstractions.Bootstrapper.Initialized += new EventHandler<Telerik.Sitefinity.Data.ExecutedEventArgs>(Bootstrapper_Initialized);

void Bootstrapper_Initialized(object sender, Telerik.Sitefinity.Data.ExecutedEventArgs e)

Telerik.Sitefinity.Configuration.Config.RegisterSection<RandomSiteControls.Configuration.SitefinitySteveConfig>();

5) Recompile your project, or recycle your App_Pool for the settings to take effect

**Optional**