Accessing ContentItems Through Code Behind

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:57

Accessing ContentItems Through Code Behind

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Jan-2013 00:00

I am completely new to Sitefinity CMS, so bare with me here...
I am using Sitefinity Version 5.3

I am trying to query a ContentBlock I created in the CMS.
Content > Content blocks > And I added a basic content block with a line of content and also added a tag.

I added the content block to a page.

My goal was to query the content block by the tag name.

I could not find a good example to query the content by tag name except here:
http://www.telerik.com/help/sitefinity/developer-manual/content-items-get.html
However, this appears to be version 3.x?   Because Telerik.Cms.Engine.ContentManager() doesn't seem to exist anymore.

Then I found this documentation to get the contentitem by its ID.  However, I couldn't find a way to actually view the ID.  Is this in a CMS field somewhere, if so Where?
http://www.sitefinity.com/documentation/documentationarticles/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials/modules/content-blocks/querying-content-items
I also tried to get the current Page ID and use that, from this:
(Guid) Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.SiteMapBase.GetActualCurrentNode().Id
And then query all contentitems within the page, I think I closed that page but that seems like a backwards way to do it anyways.

I then tried getting the contentitem by Title as shown here:
http://www.sitefinity.com/documentation/documentationarticles/developers-guide/sitefinity-essentials/modules/content-blocks/finding-content-items
This code gave an error immediately saying LString couldn't be converted to String (cI.Title = title does not work)  Is there a certain property that I should use?

So obviously I am doing something wrong here, it can't possibly be this hard just to pull a content Item.  Can someone help me out?  Thanks.

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Jan-2013 00:00