Search Index Functionality Effectively Duplicates Content Vi

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 14:34

Search Index Functionality Effectively Duplicates Content Views

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 20-Mar-2013 00:00

Hello & thanks for your time. I'm a UI designer fairly new to C#, ASP.NET and SiteFinity. I am working with version 5.4.4010.0. Overall I am impressed with the system design, as it lends itself well to structuring content as data models separate from presentation and thus is very promising for publishing across different media types.

I am experimenting with the search engine functionality, and have succeeded in creating a specific search engine. I like this ability to target specific search content in the index, plus the speed with which results are returned.

However, the way the system accomplishes all of this effectively duplicates content. If I'm not mistaken SiteFinity's search index creation requires that you create a standalone page as a "dump" of all data in the target content type. That page is what the index is generated from.

I understand why indexing is necessary, but in practice what happens is that the search results click each through to a novel dynamic view of the indexed content's data vs. its original context. For a very simple content search index this is something I can live with, but for an index of >1 disparate content types (blogs, videos, custom, etc.) you wind up with a one-size-fits-all search result destination page in which the content is duplicated and formatted nothing like its original context, with a separate URL.

Why can indexes not be generated directly from the existing content views, and cut out the middle man? Any explanation or assistance is appreciated. (Since I do not yet have a handle on ASP.NET development please be gentle.) Thanks!

Posted by Community Admin on 23-Mar-2013 00:00

Hi Luke,