Module builder: custom module fields: creating and using a m

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:11

Module builder: custom module fields: creating and using a markdown interface widget for entering data

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 09-Apr-2013 00:00

Hello & thanks for your time. I am a UI designer and I'm fairly new to SiteFinity, ASP.NET, C#, Visual Studio and compiled language development in general. 

I am working with SiteFinity 5.1 and am creating a custom content module with a Long Text field for entering content data. In the "Add a field" form dialog window, the field "Interface widget for entering data" by default provides me with three choices: Rich text editor, text area, or Custom. A screenshot is attached.

The text area lacks any of the formatting functionality necessary for composition (paragraphs, breaks, list items, headings, links, etc.) but the rich text editor's bells and whistles offer more functionality than is necessary and so it is a distraction (not to mention a potential hazard from a look-and-feel standpoint.)

A markdown-only editor field like: pagedown.googlecode.com/.../demo.html would be ideal. Markdown provides practical composition functionality but it doesn't conflate that with design and styling the way WYSIWYG editors do. Limitation creates form.

Any beginner-friendly suggestions on how I might accomplish this for SiteFinity 5.1 (a local installation) using just text editors or Visual C# 2010 Express would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Posted by Community Admin on 12-Apr-2013 00:00

Hi Luke,

You can easily achieve this functionality using the out of the box feature for creating custom toolsets for our WYSIWYG editor.