Custom layout properties

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 15:02

Custom layout properties

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-May-2013 00:00

Hi all,

I'm brand new to developing in Sitefinity. We're using version 6. I've been charged with the task of creating a custom layout, which I've done with the Thunder extension in VS2010:

<div runat="server" class="sf_cols">
    <div runat="server" class="sf_1col_1_100">
        <div runat="server" class="sf_colsIn sf_1col_1in_100">
        <!-- Place holder goes here! -->

</div>
    </div>
    <div runat="server" class="sf_1col_1_100">
        <div runat="server" class="sf_colsIn sf_1col_1in_100" style="text-align:center">            
        </div>
    </div>
</div>

I've been told that I can extend the custom layout to add extra properties (I need two... Anchor and NextAnchor. Basically, what I'm trying to achieve is to create a layout the user can drag onto the page. The user can then add widgets into this layout. There will be multiple custom layouts on the page, but each layout references the next by the two properties. So ...

CustomLayout1 (includes eg 3 widgets)
CustomLayout2 (includes eg 3 widgets) 
etc..

When the user clicks a button in CustomLayout1, it needs to read the NextAnchor property (which contains eg CustomLayout2), and then slide down to CustomLayout2.

Problem is I can't seem to figure out how the user would enter the Anchor or NextAnchor values. I tried setting up Toolbox item parameters (as seen in Snap1.png attached). I would have expected them to have an effect on the edit when the layout tool is placed (snap2.png attached), but it didn't. I'm not sure how to achieve what I need.

Any help would be very greatly appreciated. 

Thanks in advance

Stu

Posted by Community Admin on 30-May-2013 00:00

Hi Stuart,

You can create your own control by inheriting from the LayoutControl class.
I think you can then create some logic to navigate through some containers using jQuery?