Creating Events and News Items VIA SQL Insert Commands

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 01:00

Creating Events and News Items VIA SQL Insert Commands

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 06-Jun-2013 00:00

Hello Everyone,
I'm new to developing and don't have access to the Sitefinity API at the moment, but I do have write access to my Sitefinity SQL server.  I'm migrating from an old mssql based cms , and need to script over 300 events and 2000 stories.

Has anyone attempted to create news items and events from sql queries/inserts? I had a bit of success today trying this, but it just seems that all the unique identifiers are very hard to keep track of in the multiple tables.

From what I can tell, one news stories creates:
 2 entries in sf_news_items table
1 entry in sf_news_items_language_data
6 entries in sf_news_items_sf_permissions
 1 entry in sf_language data

..... and im sure i'm missing some. it seems a bit overkill compared to wordpress where you could get away with just importing the data into a single table.

Am I crazy for even attempting this? Has anyone had success doing this?

Dave

Posted by Community Admin on 06-Jun-2013 00:00

Hi Dave,

I don't assume you're crazy but I would strongly recommend to not even try this. Spend your time on getting API access instead. Messing with the tables is very risky, not documented, and you'll have a hard time getting support if you run into issues. I personally only touch the tables if something has been messed up and the API is unable to fix it.

I've not used WordPress but I don't think you can compare it to Sitefinity. The more options a CMS has to offer, the more complex the data store gets.

Posted by Community Admin on 10-Jun-2013 00:00

Hi,