Custom Widget with 2 fields

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 01:53

Custom Widget with 2 fields

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Jun-2013 00:00

Hi
I am just getting started on Widgets and I am having problems trying to understand how the javascript interacts with the widget in the designer.

Basically I have created a widget with designer from the Thunder addon for VS.NET

I have selected "Add - > New Item" , "Sitefinity Widget with Designer" which has created a new Widget which I can add to a page quite simply.

The widget has a single field. To help me learn I just want to have two fields.

I seem to be able to do the aspx stuff to create the 2nd field but I am unsure about the javascript interaction from the designer perspective.

Could someone create a really simple widget (which derives from SimpleView) with two edit fields or point me to some code that does this already so I can see where you have made the 2nd field work in the designer.

I may not be alone here in not seeing the interaction in the .JS file of the designer and the UI.

The default code created a variable

this._message = null;

But it is never set to a value.

Later it is used in the following code

get_message:
function () return this._message; ,
set_message: function (value) this._message = value;

But like I said the value was never set - so what is setting the value?

Also in the .CS file there is the following code

protected virtual Control Message

get

return this.Container.GetControl<Control>("Message", true);

public override System.Collections.Generic.IEnumerable<System.Web.UI.ScriptDescriptor> GetScriptDescriptors()

var scriptDescriptors = new List<ScriptDescriptor>(base.GetScriptDescriptors());
var descriptor = (ScriptControlDescriptor)scriptDescriptors.Last();

descriptor.AddElementProperty("message", this.Message.ClientID);

So again I do not see a relationship between "message" and "_message" - is there are documentation on this?