Video player in custom control

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 13:04

Video player in custom control

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Jul-2013 00:00

Hello All,

I am very new to sitefinity and have been tasked with creating a custom control in Visual Studio 2010 for use on a sitefinity implementation.  One of the requirements is that the custom control play a video.  Can anyone tell me how I can add the media player from sitefinity to the ascx file of my custom control and play a movie that is part of the data module I have created for the site?  Sample code would be much appreciated.

Thanks very much,
Bill

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Jul-2013 00:00

Hi Bill,

It really depends on what kind of media you want to playback?
I think that if you could implement like a HTML5 player, you should go for that. For example you could use the JWPlayer or JPlayer. Depending on how you set up your data module, you could use the Sitefinity API to get the right media files and link them to one of these players.

If you need the Silverlight player from Sitefinity, you can just add it inside a UserControl and bind it from e.g. code-behind.

VideoPlayer.ascx

<%@ Control Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeBehind="VideoPlayer.ascx.cs" Inherits="SitefinityWebApp.Widget.Videos.VideoPlayer" %>
<%@ Register Namespace="Telerik.Sitefinity.Modules.Libraries.Web.UI.Videos" TagPrefix="sf" Assembly="Telerik.Sitefinity" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="sitefinity" Assembly="Telerik.Sitefinity" Namespace="Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI" %>

<sitefinity:ResourceLinks id="resourcesLinks" runat="server">
    <sitefinity:ResourceFile Name="Telerik.Sitefinity.Resources.Scripts.Silverlight.js" Static="true" />
</sitefinity:ResourceLinks>

<sf:MediaPlayerControl ID="mediaPlayer" runat="server"></sf:MediaPlayerControl>

VideoPlayer.ascx.cs
using System;
using System.Linq;
using SitefinityWebApp.Base;
using Telerik.Sitefinity.Modules.Libraries;