Creating custom Content Block

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 14:51

Creating custom Content Block

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 12-Dec-2013 00:00

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Sitefinity, having been tasked with building up a new template for our corporate website.

I've got a lot of the structure built and the master page imported into Sitefinity (version 5.1). I'm now trying to create a custom content block, which will be a fixed width, with a background colour. I want the editor for it to include a new font in the drop-down. My idea is to create multiple of these, with different layouts, so as to reduce the need for our marketing team to have to go through advanced options having to set stylesheets and layouts etc - they'll just be able to drag the content block onto the page and its ready for them to enter their text and images etc.

What I've done so far is to create a new asp.net user control (e.g. customContentBlock.ascx), and I've copied all of the content from the "ContentBlock.ascx" control in the SDK into my new control. I've then wrapped a div around the "contentHtml" literal control, which sets my formatting. In Sitefinity advanced settings, I've created a new tool in the same place as the existing ContentBlock, keeping all of the attributes the same as the ContentBlock but changing the "Layout Template" attribute to point to my new control.

The problem I have is that when I drag this onto my page, it doesn't show my custom formatting by default. If I then go to edit the content, then click advanced, the layout template shows the default, no the one I've entered for the widget. If I change it here it gets formatted as expected, but I don't want users to have to keep doing this.

Is there a way that I can make it so that when I drag my custom content block onto a page, it automatically sets the layout template to my own?