Custom Image-Uploading Field

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 04:26

Custom Image-Uploading Field

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Jun-2014 00:00

Hi there.  

I'm new to sitefinity, so please help educate me if i'm saying something nonsensical!

So my goal is, specifically, to use a custom image uploader to help a user crop an image to a specific ratio, when adding or editing content with a module.  I've got javascript on the client side that will do this.  Swell.  

Since i'm using the module for altering this content, i *think* i need a custom field to do it.  I'd love to replicate the appearance and functionality of the default image uploader, and then modify what happens after an upload, or an image selection from the images that already exist.  I went through the documentation here: www.sitefinity.com/.../creating-custom-sitefinity-field-controls

It allowed me to successfully implement a simple text field.  Good.

After that, i tried to add a MediaContentSelectorView to the ascx file.  When i do that, i start getting null reference errors when i use the field and try to access instances of the module, specifically it's complaining that this.Container is null, where "this" is my class that inherits from FieldControl.  It throws the exception during page load, in   Telerik.Sitefinity.dll!Telerik.Sitefinity.Web.UI.ContentUI.Views.Backend.Detail.SectionControl.FieldsRepeater_ItemDataBound

I'm just beating my head against the wall on this.  Can anyone point me in the direction that will help me create a somewhat complex custom field? 

Thanks so much,

- Brendan

Posted by Community Admin on 02-Jul-2014 00:00

Hello Brendan,

I believe the easiest way for you to achieve your goal is to use an image selector. Please have a look at this blog post for information on how to implement it. From then on you can place it in a custom field and add your crop logic in either the designer or the control itself.

Regards,
Ivan D. Dimitrov
Telerik