Additional URLs for News Items Not Working

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 22:59

Additional URLs for News Items Not Working

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 09-Apr-2015 00:00

I'm new to Sitefinity. I may be missing something, but I've searched the forums, etc. and haven't found an solution to my problem. The Additional URLs I've set up for News Items are giving me a 404 error instead of pointing the the correct page. This is only happening with the items I create in the News widget. If I set Additional URLs for a regular page it works correctly. Is there a check box somewhere or setting that I need to change. I'm formatting the Additional URLs the same way for the News items as I am for the Pages. ex. ~/news/2014_24.apsx

Posted by Community Admin on 01-Oct-2015 00:00

I am experiencing this very issue. I am running version 8.0.5710.0. Have you heard anything further on a resolution for this problem?

The developer that I work with sorted it out. We already had an alternate URL on the main News page of ~/news. It looks like when I tried to use the path that included "~/news" it was breaking it. It turns out that we only needed to put in /2014_24.aspx (without the ~).

Thank you for your reply Matthew.

I have tried with and without the tilde, I am absolutely certain there is no conflict with the URL existing for another page and I've tried checking the box to redirect to the default URL for the content item. Nothing works.

The additional URLs property works fine for pages, but not for News content items (perhaps other content items too, but I've only tested the News item).

I have tested across multiple sites and multiple versions of Sitefinity - including the latest version. This appears to be a genuine bug that has yet to be fixed.