How to query all news items by publication date? (And limit

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 19:33

How to query all news items by publication date? (And limit queries..)

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 11-May-2015 00:00

I know this is likely a very basic question, but I'm a designer-turned-developer-by-necessity who's inherited a Sitefinity site to modify, and I'm completely new to Sitefinity, ASP.net, and C#. I've spent the last half-hour trying to figure this out...

In Sitefinity's documentation for querying all news items, it doesn't mention how to sort by publication date. I've back-published several news items, so I don't want it displayed by last modified or last created. I've tried looking into Administration > Settings > Advanced > News > NewsBackend/NewsFrontend > Views > NewsBackendList/NewsFrontendList and it doesn't seem to be there. I've also tried doing a custom sort in the News content view, and nothing changes.

The code in question uses the Native API in the code-behind file, and I'd like a way to sort by publication date, and paginate the results to show only 5 at a time:

01.public void BindNews()
03.    NewsCtrl.DataSource =
04.        NewsManager.GetManager()
05.                   .GetNewsItems()
06.                   .Where(p => p.Status == ContentLifecycleStatus.Live && p.Visible)
07.                   .ToList();
08.    NewsCtrl.DataBind();

This is how the code is called in the widget:

1.<ItemTemplate>
2.          <li><span class="date"><%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "PublicationDate","0:D") %></span><br />
3.              <a href='/news-details<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "ItemDefaultUrl") %>' title='<%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Title") %>'>
4.                   <%# DataBinder.Eval(Container.DataItem, "Title") %></a><br />