Customizing a Template in Sitefinity

Posted by Community Admin on 04-Aug-2018 13:25

Customizing a Template in Sitefinity

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Nov-2016 00:00

Hello,

I'm fairly new to coding and creating templates. I have added a template (and navigation) but am still having problems with some of my css not taking.  First and foremost, I am wondering why my navigation bar and overall webpage won't center? I created this template in Dreamweaver, and tested it on multiple browsers and it worked. Is something in Sitefinity overriding my template? I have version 9.1.

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Nov-2016 00:00

Actually this is the image I meant to attach. 

Posted by Community Admin on 06-Dec-2016 00:00

I answered my own question. Thanks for the help....

Posted by Community Admin on 07-Dec-2016 00:00

What was the actual issue (for others who might have the same problem)?

Hi Brian,

As I said I'm fairly new to this, so I don't think others would miss this step. Basically, when setting up the Navigation (for example) I forgot to add the class.

.navMenu ul

background-color:  yellow;

So navMenu into my Navigation bar widget. That is fixed.

Some of it still isn't taking, but I believe that is a deeper issue for someone who's new to code, like me. It will probably involve more training, instead of self-teaching.

Thanks so much!  You would be surprised at the things some folks have missed. I have fixed a similar problem on what I am supporting, only it was more difficult to track down because the original developer used a LOT of copy and paste.  I would change something and it would not show up in the results because the same style was repeated below multiple times (sometimes in the same file and sometimes a different file or both) and was superseding my changes.  I am carefully cleaning it up, but in the mean time I do a global search now for every CSS class I touch.