substituting widget layouts

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 16:32

substituting widget layouts

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 20-Oct-2010 00:00

So in the navigation widget, theres a place to specify a "Custom Template Path".  Its a textbox that is apparently looking for a .net user control (ascx) file.

I'm new to sitefinity so i may be wrong, but this seems like its a way to specify a custom made layout for the navigation widget.  Which i then hope would mean that we could implement our own design, ignoring any of the embedded layout and styling in the widget.

If it indeed works this way, i haven't been able to find any documentation about how to create this template.
What does the template structure look like?
Where should data binding tags go, if they even are supposed to go in there?
What should they bind to?

and other such questions.... 

if anyone can kick me in the right direction, it'd be appreciated.

Posted by Community Admin on 20-Oct-2010 00:00

Hi Aaron,

NavigationControl has its own binding that applies over a control that you will declare in the ascx file. In your template you should have BaseDataBoundControl which has a DataSource property that we set to the SiteMapDataSource. If you do not have a BaseDataBoundControl in your template, you will get an ArgumentException. You might find this post useful.

Kind regards,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team

Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Oct-2010 00:00