Programmatic Login

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 22:05

Programmatic Login

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Oct-2010 00:00

Is there a way to programmatically login in beta 2?  I've tried the usual methods with no luck so far.  I'm new to SF so maybe I'm missing something obvious.

Thanks,
Matt

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Oct-2010 00:00

Hello Matt,

We generate our own authentication cookie. You should use SecurityManager.SetAuthenticationCookie method to authenticate an user programmatically.

Best wishes,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team

Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Oct-2010 00:00

Thanks, that did the trick.

For anyone else looking to do this, here are a couple of specific examples, either of which should work:

SecurityManager.SetAuthenticationCookie(SystemManager.CurrentHttpContext.Response, user.ProviderName, user, false);

SecurityManager.SetAuthenticationCookie(SystemManager.CurrentHttpContext.Response, Membership.Provider.Name, username, false);

Posted by Community Admin on 08-Nov-2010 00:00

Matt,

Thanks for posting the two lines of code. I tried both. It authenticates ok, but when I get to the DestinationPage it shows me as Anonymous. Did you have the same issue?

1 - I tried:
SecurityManager.SetAuthenticationCookie(SystemManager.CurrentHttpContext.Response, Membership.Provider.Name, username, False)

2 - I tried:
Dim usr As Model.User = DirectCast(Membership.GetUser(username), Model.User)
SecurityManager.SetAuthenticationCookie(SystemManager.CurrentHttpContext.Response, usr.ProviderName, usr, False)

Many thanks,
Andrei

Posted by Community Admin on 09-Nov-2010 00:00

Andrei,

Here's the code that's working for me to login after new user registration: