UpdatePanel in MasterPage causes error

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 21:03

UpdatePanel in MasterPage causes error

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Oct-2010 00:00

I have an UpdatePanel in my MasterPage and I get the following error

Cannot unregister UpdatePanel with ID 'UpdatePanel1' since it was not registered with the ScriptManager. This might occur if the UpdatePanel was removed from the control tree and later added again, which is not supported.

This article seemed relevant
http://msmvps.com/blogs/luisabreu/archive/2006/11/16/adding-removing-updatepanels-dynamicaly-from-a-page.aspx

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Eric

Posted by Community Admin on 23-Oct-2010 00:00

Hold off on looking into this. Both the MasterPage and a custom control both had an UpdatePanel with the same name. I removed the one from the MasterPage and I still had the issue.

On Monday, I'll remove the UpdatePanel from control and see what happens. Then maybe I'll add it back to MasterPage and try it.

I'll let you know what I find...

Posted by Community Admin on 25-Oct-2010 00:00

Hi Eric,

Try using RadAjaxPanel with ScriptManager declared inside a control

<asp:ScriptManager ID="ScriptManager" runat="server"/>
<telerik:RadAjaxPanel id="RadAjaxPanel1" runat="server" EnableAJAX= "True">
  <asp:Label ID="Label1" runat="server" /><br />
  <asp:Button ID="Button2" runat="server" Text="Update" OnClick="Button1Test_Click" />
</telerik:RadAjaxPanel>

code behind

protected void Button1Test_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)

Label1.Text = DateTime.Now.ToLongTimeString();

Sincerely yours,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team
Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items

Over the weekend, I saw this was an issue with 3.x also.