How to 'Create a template for the custom control designe

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 02:47

How to 'Create a template for the custom control designer'

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Dec-2010 00:00

Hi, I am new to Sitefinity 4.0
We have couple custom user controls need to tranfer to 4.0 from sitefinity 3.7, one biggest issue is only simple textbox (string) properties are working in Sitefinity 4.0, those properties with advanced format (e.g., dropdown list, rich text editor, page selector, image uploader, etc.) are not working anymore.

I searched the forum and I was referred to this doc.  But I was confused by the very first step: Create a template for the custom control designer.
Can anyone explain how exactly to 'Create a template for the custom control designer' ?  I should do it in Visual Studio or Sitefinity admin ?

Also, am I in right track to solve this issue?

Thanks.

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Dec-2010 00:00

Hello MJia,

1. You should use a custom control, not a user control. It is not possible to create a control designer for a user control.

2. In Sitefinity 4.0 the properties section displays only TextBox controls ( input fields) , so DropDowns and other complex types are not supported in the "Advanced" section of a control. You have to use ControlDesigner where you can add various controls like RadComboBox, RadGrid, RadTextBox etc.

3. Template for the control designer is ascx file ( control) where you declare controls you want to use in the control designer

sample

<%@ Control Language="C#"   %>

<%@ Register Assembly="Telerik.Web.UI" Namespace="Telerik.Web.UI" TagPrefix="telerik" %>

<telerik:RadComboBox runat="server" ID="RadComboBox1"></telerik:RadComboBox>

Greetings,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team