Module Permissions

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 04:55

Module Permissions

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 29-Dec-2010 00:00

Hi,

I'm new to Sitefinity...

I'm trying to develop a simple Sitefinity 4.0 module. One of the first things I noticed while using the administrative portion of the built-in modules is that they all have a list of actions that can be performed and who can perform them. For example, the events module has: "View event", "Create event", and so on. These restrictions can usually be defined by navigating to Settings > Permissions. My questions are:

-When and how should a module register the "actions" that it supports as well as the roles that are allowed by default?

-How should a module display these settings? (When the user clicks Settings > Permissions).

Hopefully my questions are very simple.

Thank you

Posted by Community Admin on 31-Dec-2010 00:00

Hello Nelson,

I sent a reply to you in this post. Let me know if there are any further questions.

Best wishes,
Ivan Dimitrov
the Telerik team

Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 15-Feb-2011 00:00

Hi,

I don't see how I may restrict access to the Settings > Files module in 4.0?

Thanks
Andrei

Posted by Community Admin on 16-Feb-2011 00:00

Hello Andrei,

You have to go to Administration -> Permissions. There in the global permissions you have settings which define who can manage files.

Greetings,
Radoslav Georgiev
the Telerik team

Do you want to have your say when we set our development plans? Do you want to know when a feature you care about is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Public Issue Tracking system and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 16-Feb-2011 00:00

Ok, I see.
Cheers Radoslav