Thinking of SiteFinity

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 11:47

Thinking of SiteFinity

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 11-Feb-2011 00:00

Hi everybody,
I am a long term Telerik Control user, and would not develop without them. I have been looking at SiteFinity and trying to figure out where it will fit in to one my projects which is developing a Tour Operators site and I am need some help. I am an experinced developer, and I do understand the concepts. I have looked through the documentation and I have got the trail and played around with making a user control that connects to the database etc.

At present the site has around 200 hotels 14 countries and around 30 resorts. All of these as you can imagine as driven by a database so for example you have the Hotel Page (hotel.aspx) which takes a Query String and the presents the hotel information (hotel.aspx?id=77). I know you guys kinda get that :) I just want to be clear and this applies to the country and resort pages.
My first question is, how will this work in SiteFinity? At present all this data is in a very rough CMS that is updated by employees of the company. What I am looking for is a solid CMS and I think SiteFinity provides this.

Another example is: Some hotels have prices which are drawn in from our pricing system which is linked via the hotel ID.  Now we have no problems creating the Hotels again in the SiteFinity CMS if that is the way to go, but I would need a way to link to the pricing system. Or I could implement the Hotel or Data Driven pages via user controls and draw the data from our current database, but then could I some how integrate the current database into SiteFinity so that we can use the SiteFinity CMS to somehow update the current database?

I know this sounds long and may not make sense, I am trying to weigh up the options to make the best decision.
Any advice or help documentation / pointer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks