Root Permissions (App_Data, App_Themes) Question

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 05:28

Root Permissions (App_Data, App_Themes) Question

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Feb-2011 00:00

I have only really just started working with Sitefinity 4.0 and it seems like an excellent CMS the more familiar I get with it. This is what I have done so far which has led me to worry about the site security as I'm not an expert on security so I need someone to set me straight. Please :-)

1. I installed Sitefinity on my own machine and created a new site using a database on the webserver I want to deploy it to, using SQL authentication.
2. I do not want to install Sitefinity on the webserver so I manually created a site in IIS and FTP'd the entire site to that location.
3. Brilliant stuff so far! All is good to this point.
4. I navigate to the site and get an error about the App_Data folder not having permissions. That's OK, so I then go to IIS on the webserver and give IIS_IUSRS Modify permissions to that folder! I know the App_Data folder is protected from the public so it's ok to do this.
5. The site renders great and I can log into it using the /sitefinity path.
6. Now I want to create a folder in the root called App_Themes via sitefinity/Administration/Files. BUT I don't have permissions to do it so I thought I'd be clever and give IIS_IUSRS modify permission for the entire ROOT which solved my problem.

Is this OK? Did I compromise the security of the entire site? I think it's OK as I can't access any of the folders via the browser but I'd like to know if anyone can advise me on this. Should I remove the IIS_IUSRS modify permission for the root and just apply it to the App_Themes and App_Data folders?

I know that the App_Themes folder should be in the App_Data folder for SF sites but I wanted to do it the Visual Studio way.

Thanks
Dave Stuart

Posted by Community Admin on 24-Feb-2011 00:00

Hi Dave,

Thank you for contacting Telerik Support.