List navigations

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 17:55

List navigations

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 19-May-2011 00:00

Hello, I have requirement to accomplish the following

Requirement 1

Create a page, with two frames. The right frame will contain a ordered list of topics and each topic can have sub-topics, just like a tree structure. The right frame should display the content for the topic clicked on right frame. The content display can be composed on several elements like tables and images etc. How can I accomplish this using Sitefinity.

Requirement 2

also the content in the right frame is currently saved into access db, so I would like to migrate into Sitefinity  using the API. What would be the correct approach ?, Create content blocks for each topic or pages with content blocks?

I am using ver 4.1 SP1 standard edition. I am new to Sitefinity so a detailed instructions would help.

Posted by Community Admin on 23-May-2011 00:00

Hi Huzaifa,

Requirement 1
You just create a template for page that suits your design needs (design --> Page templates ) or use a built in one and extend it with more layout trough editing the page`s backend (when editing a page select Layout tab on right side). Place a navigation widget with tree view type of navigation to display the menu items as you like ( you may need to apply some styling to the control Note that almost all Sitefinity widgets are based on Telerik RadControls and when you create certain type of navigation you refer to some of the RadControls tree view demo). The navigation widget is filled with information from your SiteMap and automatically included all published pages with "show in navigation" option selected. For your Left frame you just add content to that frame on each individual page and drag a navigation widget to it. The link from the navigation is directed to the page that holds the content  ( left frame).

Requirement 2