Editing CSS on Visual Studio

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 13:14

Editing CSS on Visual Studio

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 22-Jun-2011 00:00

Hi Telerik

I ve just started to use Sitefinity trial version and completed my website's prototype on Sitefinity Project Manager.Now i want to change background colors and other CSS stuffs and I also want to add some JavaScript to my website.

The problem is: i couldnt find the required tools on Sitefinity CMS page.Secondly,I am using Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 for coding my websites.When i clicked on "Edit in Visual Studio" on Sitefinity Project Manager, VS10 is oppening but i couldnt find the exact files in the filelist.Actually there is nothing related with my Sitefinity project in Visual Studio.

***Where can i find the css,jscript,aspx etc. files of my project and modify them?

Note: I am a newbie web developer,please answer my question in the way i can understand...step by step if possible =)

Regards.

99.9% of Sitefinity is all embedded into the .DLLs you see (which is awesome)

So can you provide some more details?  Are you using\modifying the "Basic" theme, or have you created your own?  Are you using a physical .master page or using the Template editor to create one?

Steve

Hi can,

Actually these are embedded resources and are contained in our default theme, that's why you are not able to find the physical files in VS. However, you can easily inspect with a toll  (e.g. Firebug) what CSS we're loading on the pages and create you custom theme, more information on creating themes can be found in our Designer's guide.
Regarding *.aspx, do you mean the pages you have created in Sitefinity? Those are stored in the Database, however applying javascript to a Sitefinity page is very easy - you just need to drop a JavaScript widget (the Scripts section in the widget toolbox, when you open the page for editing).