Sandbox Major Issues

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 20:28

Sandbox Major Issues

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 15-Sep-2011 00:00

I've been using DotNetNuke for the last 8 years and after much research have put Sitefinity at the top of my replacement list.

After working with the online sandbox for half an hour, I'm pretty shocked and frustrated. First, page loads are extremely slow. Second, I've already ran into about 5 bugs in the first 30 minutes doing very basic stuff. For example, I used the Company site template and then created a new page and left all the defaults. When I try going to the new page, I get no response after 15 minutes of doing everything I can think of to get a blank page to load. I can't replace the logo or the copyright text after several attempts. Trying to rearrange page sequence generated an error with no text and after the dismissing the error message, the page hierarchy flattened out on the page management page. I created a new subpage below the first page and it loads completely blank with no header, footer, content or anything other than white space.

I've been a full-time CMS professional for 17 years and I don't think I've seen a CMS demo this problematic. As it stands now, I've got to seriously rethink keeping Sitefinity on my prospect list at all. I drive the technology at a Fortune 100 company and I've been considering a major deployment. Unless anyone can explain these issues, I think I've got to go back to the drawing board.

Thanks,
John

Posted by Community Admin on 15-Sep-2011 00:00

Hi John,

Yeah, I can understand what you mean. I'm not a big fan of the demos, either.
On the other hand I'm still a fan of Sitefinity, specially version 3.7. The new 4.2 is getting better, though!

If you would like me to get you a demo, let me know. I think I can come up with something better, so that you can have a decent compromise before saying goodbye to Sitefinity.

Best regards,
Daniel