Sitefinity 5.0 Vertical Navigation With Drop Down?

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 16:07

Sitefinity 5.0 Vertical Navigation With Drop Down?

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 22-May-2012 00:00

First off, I'd like to note that I'm very new to Sitefinity but so far, I absolutely love it. Alright, so what I want is very, very easy...but it seems to be damn near impossible with this, which is leaving me a little disheartened. All I want, is a vertical navigation menu, that shows children on mouse over. I know there's the vertical menu with drop down, why isn't there a vertical? This makes really no sense to me.  I've tried doing 'Clean Navigation' but that proved to be next to useless, or maybe I'm not looking in the right places? Either way, if someone could point me to the right resources to make this happen, I would be very, very grateful :)

Also; Hi! My name's James.

Thanks everyone! Attached is a screenshot of what I want to happen.

I find it really hard to believe that such a powerful CMS is limited by something so silly. I've tried the methods in this post: http://www.sitefinity.com/devnet/forums/sitefinity-4-x/general-discussions/simple-sub-menu.aspx

But it didn't work, I've also tried CleanNav as I previously stated, but to no avail. All I need is a vertical menu with rollovers or 'drop downs'.

It appears you are right...

You might just have to make a quick new control with a RadMenu on it, and bind it to a SitefinitySiteMapDataSource object

Boyan has a sample here (about 5 posts from the top)....3 lines of code in the markup, no codebehind...not that bad :)

So you want to use the RadMenu and set the Flow to Vertical.

Thanks for the response Steve.