Modifying Dashboard page - Version 5.0

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 17:59

Modifying Dashboard page - Version 5.0

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 20-Jun-2012 00:00

Hi,
Can I modify the Dashboard page of Sitefinity? 

I found this link early in February. I not so sure that the Dashboard page is ready to be customized now.

Thanks,

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Jul-2012 00:00

Hey, NK!

We already have customized the dashboard in SF 5.0.

Just keep in mind you may break it so probably a backup upfront will be a good idea.

Let me know if I'm missing something.

Hi Pavel,
Thank you for responses.

I am trying to remove the "Welcome to Sitefinity 5.0" and " Video tutorials about..." sections and replace it with simple text. How do I do that? I am new to version 5.0.

Many thanks,

Hello, NK!
You will need to get to the Backend Pages and then edit the Dashboard.
Unfortunatelly the Dashboard is a single control thing so you can't remove parts of it. You either remove the whole Dashboard control or leave it intact. No customizations on it as far as I see.
If you are still going to remove the Dashboard and add your own content there - follow these steps:
1. Go to Settings
2. Select "Backend Pages"
3. Confirm you know what you're doing on the Caution screen.
4. Expand the Sitefinity node in the pages screen and click edit on the Dashboard page.

You will be in Page edit for the Dashboard page. Unfortunatelly as I said - you're not going to be able to just remove bits of it and leave other bits, you either remove it or leave it.

Caution: Please either get the website backed up (the database mainly) or be extremelly careful as you really can mess the things up. I am not quite sure if you can restore the Dashboard widget in case you want to without having a database restore. This makes it a bit difficult if you're website is live. I suggest doing this on a local website first to check how it is going before doing it on a production website.