Adding microweb to site

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 00:44

Adding microweb to site

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 15-Feb-2014 00:00

I have a self-contained microweb with about 25 files in it, and I've been asked to add it to the website so that it can be accessed under our normal web address even though it isn't part of the Sitefinity files. I am new to Sitefinity -- I took over content editing after others set up the initial site. I can't find any information on how to achieve this and I don't want to mess anything up with trial and error. I've attached a screen shot of what the files list looks like. Am I supposed to create a folder under here and copy the files up? Am I supposed to stay out of this area with non-Sitefinity files?

Any help would be most appreciated.
Thanks,
Becky

Posted by Community Admin on 17-Feb-2014 00:00

Hello Becky,

In general, Sitefinity is a default ASP.Net project so you are allowed to place folders under the root one and access them using a call to YourDomain.com/YourFolder/YourFile. It is good practice that you do not use ASP.Net reserved folders such as the App_Data one in Sitefinity's case.

With that said, it is possible to place your files under the Sitefinity root folder. Depending on what the files are, you can have access to them using your domain. Provided the files are a separate project like a class library for example, you may need to register them in a Global.asax file in order for you to be able to use it successfully.

Regards,
Ivan D. Dimitrov
Telerik

Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 18-Feb-2014 00:00