Posting Data to Existing Server Database?

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 14:15

Posting Data to Existing Server Database?

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 14-Jul-2014 00:00

Hi,

I am fairly new with Sitefinity and currently preforming an internship (Web Development) with my University.

I am looking for documentation, or guidance on the following:

• Connecting to an external(by external I'm referring to different server) database that currently holds form data.
  • Ability to post data to that "external" database using the existing Sitefinity web form builder.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks,

Michael 

Posted by Community Admin on 17-Jul-2014 00:00

Hello Michael,

Could you please elaborate on what you want exactly to achieve? If you want to export some content items from Sitefinity to the external database, you should implement some extensibility points in your application to which to hook from Sitefinity. You can implement a completely custom solution using services to pass data from and to you external application. If you want more Sitefinity dedicated solution you can create inbound and outbound pipe using the Publishing system described in details in our documentation.

Regards,
Nikola Zagorchev
Telerik

Do you want to have your say in the Sitefinity development roadmap? Do you want to know when a feature you requested is added or when a bug fixed? Explore the Telerik Sitefinity CMS Ideas&Feedback Portal and vote to affect the priority of the items

Posted by Community Admin on 21-Jul-2014 00:00

[quote]Could you please elaborate on what you want exactly to achieve?[/quote]

Okay here is the problem.Currently the university uses Javascript to validate the information in the forms there using and upon validation, they use a vb script to post data to a database on campus. 

What I have resorted to is this so far: 

using System;
using System.ComponentModel.DataAnnotations;
using System.Linq;