Self Referencing Hierarchies for Dynamic Modules

Posted by Community Admin on 03-Aug-2018 14:17

Self Referencing Hierarchies for Dynamic Modules

All Replies

Posted by Community Admin on 25-Jun-2015 00:00

Any word on self referencing hierarchies. I've been discussing this with SF for two years and I keep hearing that it's coming soon but have not noticed any indication lately. Here's a post from back in 2014 that mentions you're planning on implementing it in 7.1:

http://www.sitefinity.com/developer-network/forums/upcoming-features/preview-ability-to-relate-content-to-other-content-items/page/2

The problem right now is that in a single dynamic module scenario (e.g. no child types) ensure that parent/child relationships are enforced. For example, I have a practice area dynamic module and it can have multiple levels of child practice areas. If I just use related practice areas, there's no enforcement that a child practice area doesn't become a parent to it's parent.

Below is a common scenario for us:

Practice area 1

--> Practice area 2 (sub practice of 1)

--> Practice area 3 (sub practice of 1)

--> Practice area 4 (sub practice of 1)

--> --> Practice area 5 (sub practice of 4)

--> --> Practice area 6 (sub practice of 4)

The only way to achieve this right now is with related data but with related data I can still easily go into practice area 1 and choose practice area 6 as its parent creating an endless loop.

I understand that I can create a practice area module and then add a child content type called sub practice area but what if this is 5 levels deep? Do I have to create a child content type for each of these even though the actual data is exactly the same for each level. It gets very cumbersome and they are all just practice areas.