Add button to grid that generates a PDF

Posted by richyoder555 on 08-Feb-2018 12:16

I'm new to Kendo and I'm trying to figure out how to:

1) add a button to a grid of orders that when pressed will

2) pass the order number to the server and

3) return a PDF file to the user.

Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Posted by Ricardo Perdigao on 09-Feb-2018 11:42

Hi Richard,

Here is the code if you were to use the Stacked Grid template:

onShow($scope) {
        console.log('Show');
        this.scope = $scope;
        $scope.vm.$window.showDetails = function showDetails(e) {
            e.preventDefault();
            var tr = $(e.target).closest("tr"); // get the current table row (tr)
            var data = this.dataItem(tr);
            window.open('http://localhost:8810/static/' + data.CustNum + '.pdf', 'PDF Window', 'toolbar=no');
        };
        var newCommand = {command: { text: "View Details", click: showDetails }, title: " ", width: "180px" };
        this.$model.parentGridOptions.columns.push(newCommand);
    }

All Replies

Posted by Ricardo Perdigao on 08-Feb-2018 13:10

Richard,

Couple of questions to narrow this down:

- Are you using the Templates in Kendo UI Builder?  Or the Blank Canvas (where you place the objects in the screen with drag and drop?  (I am almost certain you are using the templates)

- What template are you using (Stacked Grid, Grid, Grid and Form)?

I am asking because you would need write custom code to implement that functionality and the syntax will vary between using a Template and using the Blank Canvas.  I will can to write a sample for you, but I want to make sure I am using the same Template as you are (to make it easier for you to use my sample).

Regards,

Ricardo Perdigao

Posted by richyoder555 on 08-Feb-2018 14:21

I am using the standard grid template but I can use the Blank canvas if needed.

Posted by Ricardo Perdigao on 08-Feb-2018 14:53