Licensing question

Posted by oedev on 09-May-2019 09:31

Customer on 10.2B (will upgrade to 11.x later this year)

Currently, they have x number of Enterprise DB licenses and x number of Client Networking (where x is the same number). The license type is Registered Client. Our application runs client server.

We want to deploy a webspeed based back-end for use via mobile apps, as these are known users and will use specific devices I assume I will need "Progress OpenEdge Application Server Basic Edition" for "Registered Device" ? So if there are 10 mobile devices in operation I will require 10 licenses?

As the users using the mobile apps will be the same users using our desktop based application, will further additional database licenses be required or not?

Thanks 

All Replies

Posted by Thomas Mercer-Hursh on 13-May-2019 21:08

Since I have no direct experience with Registered Client, I was hoping someone would leap in here and respond, but that doesn't seem to be happening, so I will take a stab.  The idea behind Registered Client is that you license N defined "end points", i.e., devices which you use to connect to the database.  This is most advantageous in an environment where multiple people use a single device, e.g., a terminal in a warehouse used by many people to get orders and input picks.  So, I suppose the first question one might ask is to verify that this is your understanding too and that this is the license model most appropriate to your circumstances.

As for the AppServer, I think you have it correctly, i.e., just like the other licenses, 10 physical devices = 10 user license, regardless of the number of people that might use them.

As for the database, my expectation would be that since you will then have X+10 physical devices in the new setup, you will need X+10 users in your database license.

Posted by Paul Koufalis on 13-May-2019 22:43